Holiday / Photography / Travelling

My Week in Catalunya: La Bella Girona

Ponte de Pedra (the Stone Bridge)

Pont de Pedra (the Stone Bridge)

Taking the low-cost flight such as RyanAir to Barcelona can bring you to this beautiful yet mysterious city named Girona. By RyanAir, you can get into Barcelona El Prat, which is indeed in Barcelona, or Barcelona-Girona Airport, which is 1.5h by train to Barcelona. Girona as a part of Catalunya Area offers you the old and modern part of the city itself. From my friend, Wulan’s place, I followed the path along the river to take me to the old town. The old town starts from the Pont de Pedra (Spanish. translation: stone bridge). Same as Barcelona, Girona has Las Ramblas. Las Ramblas street that also full of people and shops.

Newspaper Booth
Newspaper Booth
Las Ramblas
Las Ramblas

I took the path straight from Las Ramblas and I met many narrow streets and those build-from-stones buildings. Similar to the one in Besalú, these buildings has those brown gradation colours that made a gloomy atmosphere during my walk. One of the most famous spots in Girona is the Perfume tunnel. Do you a movie titled Perfume that was adapted from a best-selling (and weird) novel with the same title? Perfume is such a gloomy movie. I got such a scary feeling when I watched Perfume. A man kills young women to get their scents? Ewww. Okay, back to the tunnel. So in that movie, there is a dark tunnel and that tunnel in reality is this tunnel here in Girona. A long and dark tunnel. At my first day, Wulan took me there at night and just like the feeling I got from the movie, the tunnel was soooo scary! Then I came again at noon and of course, took photos of it.

Turn your head up at the Perfume tunnel and you will see this

Turn your head up at the Perfume tunnel and you will see this

The Perfume Tunnel

The Perfume Tunnel

Narrow Street

Narrow Street

Once I was in the middle of the old town, there was a big cathedral with those stairs and I could see Girona from above.

Me & Wulan

Me & Wulan

In front of Cathedral

In front of Catedral Santa Maria de Girona

Wulan advised me to take a different path when going home. Especially to get a different scenery of Girona. We took the “great wall of Catalunya” path. The wall was sooo long until I named it the great wall, inspired by the great wall of China.

The Great Wall of Catalunya

The Great Wall of Catalunya

Sleepy-eyes me

Sleepy-eyes me

On my second day in Girona, I strolled alone while enjoying the sunny Girona from my camera lens. Similar with other European cities, most of stores were closed on Sunday. It was during winter but the sun shined. As a result, many citizens went out of their house and enjoyed the sun. They chit-chatted, had coffee, walked their dogs, or just strolled around like me.

Shadowy but Sunny Girona

Shadowy but Sunny Girona

Poster(s)

Poster(s)

View from Across the Bridge

View from Across the Bridge

Enjoying sunny sunday in Girona

Enjoying sunny sunday in Girona

Luckily, I found a bakery that wasn’t closed and I tried Bunyol, one of Catalan famous snacks. It was a dough. Fried dough with sugar and similar to doughnut. The difference was its cinnamon taste. It was sold per kilo so the officer weighted my Bunyol(s).

Bunyol

Bunyol

Catalana

Catalana

Designed by the architect who made Eiffel, Mr. Eiffel

Designed by the architect who made Eiffel, Mr. Eiffel

When I told my friend about Girona, he didn’t believe me at all that this city is beautiful. It’s because of Girona is mostly known for its low-cost flight airport to Barcelona. I might advise you: if you have to land in Girona airport, spend a day here! I prefer a small and not-so-crowded city with warm atmosphere rather than a big city. Different from Barcelona that made me worried of thieves and strange men around, I felt totally safe here.

Beijinhos,

5 thoughts on “My Week in Catalunya: La Bella Girona

  1. Pingback: My week in Catalunya: Besalú | (lagi-lagi) kisah DUDUL seorang bhella bhello

Leave a Reply

