Cooking / kuliner / Uncategorized

Cooking Experiment: Khor, the Delightful Cambodian Sweet Chicken & Egg Stew

KHOR!

KHOR!

The first time I ate Khor was when my housemate, Kim Samath from Cambodia, cooked Khor for my birthday. I fell in love with Khor in a snap! I could taste its sweetness but also its saltiness (a bit). I asked Samath how to cook Khor and finally, after procrastinating so many days, I learned how to cook Khor from Samath. I will definitely cook Khor in Indonesia later on.

Unfortunately, I forgot to buy ginger and I didn’t find any bamboo. So here it goes, the less-ingredient recipe of Khor.

Ingredient(s)

  • 1 whole chicken, cut small
  • White Sugar (Samath poured sugar without any dose. She used her feeling! LOL
  • Garlic
  • Salt
  • Egg (as many as you like)
  • Oil

Step(s)

  1. Slice the garlic into small pieces
  2. Boil eggs in another pot
  3. Heat the oil then pour sugar on it
  4. Use a small fire then stir the sugar until it melts into a caramel like with a red colour. Because we use a small fire, the sugar turns out to be hard cubes. So, we need a lot of power to stir it :p
  5. In the middle of stirring, put garlic then stir together
  6. After the sugar gets red, put chicken inside then stir again
  7. We don’t need to add water but if you want a bit of broth, you can add water and more sugar
  8. After the chicken has cooked enough, peel our boiled eggs then put them into our chicken pot
  9. Stir stir and stir. This was hard because I think I smashed the eggs until they ruined, haha. But I like those smashed eggs, btw.
  10. You can add salt if you want it to be saltier. Just customise its taste based on your preference.
  11. Voila! Khor is ready!!! YEEEEHAAA

This Khor recipe is so simple and what I love the most is: I can find its ingredients in Indonesia. WOOOHOOOO. It was also the first time I put sugar first into heated oil before garlic, because Indonesian cookings usually start with frying garlic and/or onion first. Fyi, Khor tastes better with ginger :9

Happy cooking!

2 thoughts on “Cooking Experiment: Khor, the Delightful Cambodian Sweet Chicken & Egg Stew

    • halooo bang DW, salam kenal ^_^
      terima kasih sudah mampir ke blog aku.
      waaah jangan ditambahkan santan. nanti jadi opor lho haha.
      titik berat masakan ini ada di gula karamel-nya🙂

Leave a Reply

