Travelling

… I Always Want to be an Architect

Marseille, France

Marseille, France

Few days ago, I randomly looked at my traveling albums on iPhoto then I realised… I unconsciously took tons of pictures of European buildings and especially, rooftops. Europe has been offering me with different types of architecture in each city. Some buildings were still being used and sadly, some were just empty buildings with antique architecture. Kind of interesting because I found some empty old buildings were spooky yet I loved them.

Bratislava, Slovakia

Bratislava, Slovakia

Nuremberg, Germany

Nuremberg, Germany

I have been living my 24yo life with my architect father. When I was a kid, I often followed him to the site or to the Faculty of Architecture where he taught. My father taught site planning class so I got used to see many site plans and architectural models in my house. I remember drawing on my father’s architect desk. I remember sitting on his lap while he was sketching on that desk. I remember colouring the desk with my crayons (literally on the desk. Not paper). And seeing how cool he was made me wanted to be like him. I wanted to be an architect. Oops, I want. Not wanted.

Vienna, Austria

Vienna, Austria

When I stepped on ITB (Bandung Institute Technology) for the first time, my father brought me to the Architecture-program building and met Bang Ed, whom he had known since he was studying there and most of my friends know who Bang Ed is, haha, sooo famous! I was like: “OK, this is a building I will be studying at!” Believe it or not, I didn’t take a visit to Labtek V (the Informatics Engineering building) yet I ended up spending most of my 4-year ITB life there :p

Cologne, Germany

Cologne, Germany

Rome, Italy

Rome, Italy

During mathematic class, I knew I was good in geometry. It was easy for me to imagine 2D or 3D geometrical shapes. My first year in Informatics Engineering was awful. I kept imagining myself studying Architecture. I wanted to make sketches on paper. With pencil. Not writing codes. With computer. But then, who knows, as time went by, I started enjoying Informatics Engineering. and who knows also, I feel so blessed of having the chance to study Informatics, being up to date with the development of technology, and knowing many awesome teachers and colleagues there! I do feel so blessed. Yes, I do. Should I repeat? I DO.

Yet, Informatics brought me to Europe. E U R O P E. Where once again I feel grateful for this opportunity to enjoy and see those great architectures in history with my own eyes (I always wish my father was there with me. He often told me to see some buildings in some cities which I didn’t know what were those). For me, it becomes more interesting if I know the history of each building! x)

… and I really enjoy my Master’s study now. I am happy studying Services Engineering and Management. Tho I don’t code as much as I was during my undergraduate study. I guess now instead of being an architect for buildings, I am an architect for services, right? :p

Paris, France

Paris, France

Ghent, Belgium

Ghent, Belgium

Ok, question: Why did I take tons of pictures of European rooftops? Was it because of my short height or because of my dream to be an architect hasn’t vanished yet?

Boa noite e beijinhos (Good night and kisses),

9 thoughts on “… I Always Want to be an Architect

Leave a Reply

