masa muda / Writing

Working Out, Consistency, and Commitment

Many of my Indonesian friends who saw pictures of me on social media said, “You look thinner! Tell me your secrets!”

The secrets are…

I don’t have one! I only change the way I live, pay attention to what I eat, do more exercises, be happy, and think positive everyday B)

I am not a fan of sport nor other working-out activities. I love eating, cooking when I have the mood (don’t question the taste :p), traveling, and shopping, haha. Can I say that traveling and shopping are burning-calories activities? x) In 2011, I wrote a post about the reason why I started changing my lifestyle (complete story in here).

My brother & I, 2010. I was 67 kg way back then.

My brother & I, 2013. I am 48kg now. and my brother has slimmed down as well.

I still joined Zumba classes on my second semester and jogged at the beach during summer. But when the winter came, I barely did any exercise and my sleeping time changed. I felt my body need exercises. I started gaining weight and yes, of course, my chubby cheeks were getting chubbier. After changing my lifestyle, my body feels so strange if I don’t do any exercise. Kind of strange, huh? For a person who used to hate exercises.

Because of the long (and awful) winter, I started joining a gym. I joined the gym because it has zumba and pilates classes. But then, I decided to commit to exercise plans. I have to tell the truth, I only know treadmill and bicycle tools :p The good thing about the gym is that there is a trainer who defines my exercise plan and many trainers who can help me working out.

BUT..

Behind those plans made for me, I have to be committed  and consistent to it. My first two months doing my gym plan, I didn’t lose any weight. But then my nutritionist friend made me a meal plan, and after I followed the meal plan. YES IT WORKS! My body feels so great and I lose weight as a bonus. I am not a skinny person, yet I don’t want to be skinny. I love the chubby me and I love the healthy me.

Getting my ass out of bed or comfortable seat to go to the gym is indeed hard for me. Especially if I think about my sweating exercise plan, OMG! I always feel so lazy. But this is the challenge, isn’t it? To know how far my commitment is. and also, being consistent. I am not yet consistent in doing this. I subscribed for a three days per week plan at the gym and told myself to go every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday regularly. In fact, I often broke the rule and came on whatever days I like. As part of my meal plan, I need to walk at the minimum of 30′ per day. Sometimes I prefer using stairs or stops at two stops after the nearest bus stop from my apartment.

Working out might sound boring and hard but honestly speaking, I enjoy it. I love the feeling of being healthy. Mens sana in conpore sano — a healthy mind in a healthy body. Yes, those exercises and my new lifestyle have brought this happy feeling and smiles to my face everyday. I feel soooo fresh! In addition, I got inspired by my friend, who always look so happy and passionate in everything she does. One day, I came to her only to complain about my “hard” life. Instead of pleasing me, she told me to stop complaining. She told me, “Why would your life feel so hard? Everyone has difficult times in life, not only you. It’s just a matter of how do you see your life. If you feel happy and grateful of your life, it will turn to be a HAPPY life indeed. So be happy and smileeeee :)”

What she said was indeed a big slap but I should thank her for being my friend, telling the truth, and inspiring me. As always. Thank you my dear friend❤

“Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do” -Happy by Pharrel Williams

…and yes, those are what I have been doing so far. No secrets. No diet pills. No starving. What I do are common things people do. Work out, eat and live healthy, and be happy. Yet I still have one homework: being consistent and committed to this way of life. Wish me luuuuck!!!

Let’s be HAPPY and grateful of our life. yippie yeeey yeeeyyyy!!! Happy Monday, all!

Beijinhos from Porto,

13 thoughts on “Working Out, Consistency, and Commitment

  1. I know a friend who is so hard to do a little exercise and cant change her eating behaviour, she eats anything anytime😀, she knows its not good but she just cant. Ill share your story to her (but as always i guess shes just gonna smile and say “good job”), by the way share us your meal plan. Thx

    • hahaha monggo mb ruru. memang yang penting adalah konsistensi & komitmennya mb hihi. dulu aku sebelum beneran serius, sering naik turun dietnya. trus pelampiasan makan banyak banget. endingnya malah naik ngelonjak.

      aku kirim ke imel mb yah. tapi ini sebagai gambaran aja mb. soalny yg meal plan ini sesuai standar aku yg 48kg, 144cm, dan gaada riwayat penyakit serius😉

      Email mb ruru apakah?

  2. I don’t even know how I stopped up here, however I believed this submit used to be good. I don’t understand who you’re however certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger in case you aren’t already. Cheers!

  3. Pingback: Olá! How’s Life Lately? | (lagi-lagi) kisah DUDUL seorang bhella bhello

  4. Pingback: My 2014: Study, Travel, and Have Fun! | (lagi-lagi) kisah DUDUL seorang bhella bhello

Leave a Reply

