masa muda / mood / renungan

Kapan Kawin?//When Will You Get Married?

When I scrolled down my Youtube feed, I found this trailer of a new Indonesian movie. Its title made me put a click on it. Can you guess what was the title? Yep! The most annoying asked question in Indonesia: Kapan Kawin?//When Will You Get Married?

This trailer starts with

its main character, played by Adinia Wirasti, telling her friend why she doesn’t like coming to a family reunion. Then her friend correctly guessed, “because so many people asked you…When will you get married?, right?”  After that, the main character was asked by so many people –including her family: “When will you get married?” until she said, “it’s not that I don’t want to get married, but..” She turned her head only to have her eyes bumped into this hottie hunk’s back, played by Reza Rahadian.

What the trailer shows is the reality in Indonesia. It literally happens here and had been one of my shock cultures for few months after I arrived in my home country. Kind of crazy, huh? :p When I was in Portugal, I felt like living in two worlds. In real life, I got party, meet up, or travel invitations on social media. I attended those events. On the contrary, almost all of my Indonesian mates uploaded their pictures attending a wedding, being a bridesmaid/best man, getting engaged, getting married, having a baby, etc. on social media (exclusively on Path).

But here I am now back in Indonesia. Being a target of this question, both from my mother and the society (even those people who just met me asked me that question! :o). Moreover, I often saw advertising about looking for a soulmate. I saw one super random today on the street with a corny board written “we can help you find your soulmate” and an unattractive man standing behind it. OMG! Who will believe those kind of things? Oh yeah, I forget we have this bottom level of the pyramid. What does happen with this society btw?

Anywaaaay, I think of this question as a prayer for me. I don’t want to be a part of the Peter Pan Generation who refuses to grow up. Once I decide to settle down, I want to be a devoted wife and mother. But now as I haven’t met the one, I want to do what I like to do the most and fulfil my goals. Rather than panicking or focusing on looking for a soulmate, I prefer to improve myself to be a better person first. It is a matter of time until you receive an invitation from me, right?😉

OK, that’s all I want to say about this hot phenomenon in Indonesia. ah, fyi, finally I am going to be a bridesmaid for my bestfriend. Can’t wait to see her standing on the altar with the man she chooses to spend the rest of her life with. I have missed two weddings of my bestfriends so I am supeeeer excited about this.

Good night and kisses,

21 thoughts on “Kapan Kawin?//When Will You Get Married?

    • Kayaknya si calon mantennya kamu ga kenaal mit. Bkn icut kok hahahah. Doain ajaa aku yg bklan segera kirim undangan😆

      Ehhh mba PhD cari jodoh dlu sana *mulai ketularan society yg ribet banget nyuruh org nikah* :p

Leave a Reply

